(LITTLE ROCK) – In celebration of Black History Month, The Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus (ADBC) will host its 13th Annual King Kennedy Dinner on Friday, Feb.17th, 2017 at the Clinton Presidential Center in Little Rock, AR. The dinner will begin at 7 p.m. The event was established in 2005 to honor and recognize outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to their communities and the state of Arkansas.

“Once again, we are very excited to celebrate the 13th annual King Kennedy Dinner and to pay tribute to deserving individuals here across the state of Arkansas,” said Darrell Stephens, president of ADBC.

“This year, I wanted to change things up a bit and add two new awards for deserving individuals in our state. Our current state of affairs has taken a drastic turn and now more than ever is the time that we need to ban together, and create grass-roots organizing to effectively move forward as a people and create change.”

The annual King-Kennedy Dinner held during Black History Month, is a major fund-raiser for the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus. All of the proceeds will go towards helping identify and helping to elect good African Americans to office, and to help educate the African American community on voting and political issues.

“We, the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus, believe that change occurs when we hold true to the democratic values, of practicing love, compassion, and justice for all,” said President Stephens.

This year’s honorees include:

Irma Hunter Brown Women’s Leadership Award
Nicole Hart, Little Rock, AR

Thomas E. Patterson Education Award
James McCoy, Little Rock, AR

Annie Abrams Community Service Award
Ethan Dunbar, Lewisville, AR

Dr.Jerry Jewel Government Leadership Award
Mayor Shirley Washington, Pine Bluff, AR

Calvin King Economic Development Award
Christopher A. Masingill, Little Rock, AR

Dr. Martin L. King Jr. Faith Leadership Award
Rev. Roy Jones, Jr., Little Rock, AR

John F. Kennedy Compassion Award
Rev. Dr. Christoph Keller, III, Little Rock, AR

President’s Award
*Special Presentation*

President’s Award – Lifetime Achievement
Alan Hughes, Little Rock, AR

To learn more about the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus or ticket/sponsorship information, contact Darrell Stephens at 501-218-6957, Sanci Richardson at 501-563-8401 or Lynette Vinson at 501-650-6062. You may view sponsorship and ticket information here.


About the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus

The Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus (ADBC) was established in 1982 as an extension of the Democratic Party of Arkansas. It provides a vehicle, within the Democratic Party of Arkansas, to address the concerns of African-Americans. The objective of this organization is to achieve proportionate representation of African-American Democratic public officials, elected or appointed in Arkansas; foster election of and monitor the performance of all elected officials and disseminate information to the African-American community through effective communication.