Nomination forms should be completed in full.  Please provide a cover letter detailing why the individual or business is deserving of an award.   Please specify which category you wish for them to be considered.  Please return nomination form and cover letter to address provided above.  All nominations will be provided to the awards selection committee for review and decision.

DEADLINE EXTENDED to JAN. 5th! – Nominations are now closed

2019 Nomination Award Form 

The Irma Hunter Brown Women’s Leader ship Award

This award will be presented to a woman of color who fights to make sure that gender bias is overcome by competence, commitment and courage.

The Thomas E. “Pat” Patterson Educational Award

The Education award will be presented to an individual who fights for equality of educational opportunity for students and education employees of color and those who are poor.

The Annie McDaniel Abrams Community Service Award

This award will be presented to an outstanding citizen who through, selfless service, makes a continued contribution to the community at-large, and especially to the African-American Community.

The Dr. Jerry Jewel Government Leadership Award

This award will be presented to an individual who has provided leadership in the political and legislative arena for people of color and people of poverty.

The Calvin King Economic Development Award

This award will be presented to a person of color who demonstrates a commitment to economic empowerment in African-American and poor communities in Arkansas.

The President’s Award

The president’s award is presented to anyone who has helped to advance the cause of the Arkansas Democratic Black Caucus, regardless of race.  It is an award that is determined by the president in his/her role of advancing the participation of African-Americans in the democratic process in general, and the Democratic Party in particular.

Deadline: December 28, 2018  January 5, 2019

BY EMAIL:  Subject: Awards Selection Committee; Email:

BY MAIL: Awards Selection Committee, P O Box 55831, Little Rock, AR  72215